Monday, October 05, 2015

Nominations for Stem Cell Person of the Year Being Taken This Week

Now is the time nominate a few good men or women for the 2015 Stem Cell Person of the Year.

UC Davis researcher Paul Knoepfler is collecting names for the annual award that he funds with a $2,000 prize. He is looking for the person who had “the biggest positive impact in the stem cell and regenerative medicine world in 2015.”

Knoepfler wrote last week,
 “This award is unique in a number of ways. For example, anyone in the world is eligible to be nominated: both scientists and non-scientists alike. The nominee should also be someone who thought outside the box and took risks, which are novel areas of emphasis for this stem cell and regenerative medicine award.” 
Paul Knoepfler, CIRM photo
The deadline for making nominations is Oct. 13. The finalists will be selected from the nominees by an Internet vote. However, Knoepler himself will choose the ultimate winner. Nominations should be emailed directly to Knoepfler at

Knoepler listed the previous winners last week.
Dr. Masayo Takahashi won in 2014 and this year also received the inaugural Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize.
Dr. Elena Cattaneo received the award in 2013 and went on to get the ISSCR Public Service Award in 2014 along with colleagues.
“In 2012 the winner was top stem cell patient advocate Roman Reed, who went on in 2013 to receive the GPI Stem Cell Inspiration Award.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog